Many people wonder what the law requires them to do if they are involved in an accident within California.  California personal injury accident laws require that you call the police if the accident caused injuries or death.  Once the police officer arrives at the scene they will conduct an investigation and file an accident report.  If you call the police and a police officer never responds then you are required to fill out and file an accident report with the local police department, they can provide the required forms at the police station.

In addition, you should report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.  Your insurance company should provide you with forms you may need to file after an accident.  California laws do require that you file an accident report with the local DMV within 10 days of the accident if damage to any vehicle involved in the accident suffered more than $750 in damage or if anyone was injured or died as a result of the accident.

In addition to the requirements of the law, you should visit your local medical facility to be checked out after being involved in an accident.  Even if you do not feel any serious pain or notice any obvious injuries, you should get check out by a physician.  Sometimes, injuries do not present themselves right after an accident.  In some circumstances, injuries do not become known until well after an accident.  A thorough check up will help determine if any “hidden” injuries may be present.

If you did suffer injuries as a result of an accident you may be entitled to have your medical bills reimbursed and you may be entitled to other compensation.  It is advisable to talk with an experienced car accident lawyer about the specifics of your accident.  An experienced injury attorney will be able to advise you if you are entitled to compensation and they will be able to represent your legal interest if you do need to file a personal injury claim.

Below are some legal resources you may want to check out if you have been involved in an accident within California:

 

Personal Injury